Cries of Silence: The Scariest Earthquake of The Last Century in Turkey

A story of desperation in at least 10 cities

Mr. Huseyin
6 min readFeb 9, 2023
Photo By Sanej Prasad Suwal on Pexels

I don’t know where to start. I want to say that I have a strange feeling inside me. As a person who didn’t experience this horrible earthquake, I feel psychologically crushed. Does a person feel ashamed in their daily life?

I feel ashamed when I go to bed, when I sleep for a long time, when I have breakfast, when I sit in my warm home. I turn on the TV and watch the news.

And as I see the desperate looks, the parents with tearful eyes, the babies who are crying so much their throats are dry, and the bodies shaking from the cold, I feel sad, crushed, and ashamed. I feel guilty. This feeling is really bothering me.

On February 06, 2023 at 04:17, a 7.7 magnitude earthquake occurred in Kahramanmaras province. Serious destructions have taken place in 10 provinces. Then, there were more than 300 aftershocks, with the largest one being 7.6 magnitude.

This is indeed a terrifying value. Hundreds of homes have been destroyed. Thousands of people are dead. The weather is very cold, it’s snowing, it’s raining.

Of course, this rubble has deeply affected thousands of people. Under the rubble of the destroyed buildings, thousands of…

--

--

Mr. Huseyin

Someone who likes to write in many fields, especially technology, science and education